- Why There Is No Fixed Exam Calendar
- How Your Personal Testing Window Works
- Choosing Your Code Edition Before You Book
- PRONTO Remote Proctoring and Scheduling Logistics
- Planning Backward from Your Exam Date
- Sequencing the Six Domains Across Your Window
- Timing Scenarios Compared
- Dates That Matter After You Pass
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Residential Energy Inspector/Plans Examiner (ICC exam 79) is not tied to a fixed national test date; your purchase starts your clock.
- Exam purchases must be used within 365 days and are non-refundable and non-transferable.
- ICC lists exam 79 in both 2021 and 2024 code editions, so confirm your edition before buying.
- The exam is 50 four-option questions in two hours, with a scaled passing score of 75.
Why There Is No Fixed Exam Calendar
Candidates searching for "REI-PE exam dates 2026" often expect a published list of test days, the way some professional licensing boards publish quarterly sittings. The Residential Energy Inspector/Plans Examiner exam from the International Code Council (ICC) does not work that way. It is a national certification examination purchased through ICC's shop, and the practical "date" that matters is the window your purchase opens, not a day on a master calendar.
That distinction changes how you should plan. Instead of asking "when is the next sitting," the better questions are: when will I be ready, how long will my purchase remain valid, and which code edition am I buying? This article walks through each of those decisions so you can build a realistic schedule. If you are still deciding whether this credential fits your career, start with What Is REI-PE Certification? and then return here for the scheduling mechanics.
How Your Personal Testing Window Works
The 365-Day Rule
The central scheduling fact for this exam is the validity period. ICC states that examination purchases must be used within 365 days. They are also non-refundable and non-transferable. In practice, that gives you a one-year runway from purchase, but it also means you cannot hand the seat to a colleague if your plans fall through, and you cannot expect your money back if you decide the timing is wrong.
The current product page for the exam shows a price of US$320 and confirms the 50-question, two-hour format. The page's separately rendered member and non-member price fields could not be fully verified, so do not assume a member discount until you see the final price at checkout. For a fuller cost picture, including how renewal charges differ from exam fees, see REI-PE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
What the Window Means for Your Calendar
Because the clock starts at purchase, the smartest sequencing is usually to study first and buy later, or to buy only when you have a committed target month. Buying early "to stay motivated" burns days of a non-refundable window. On the other hand, buying too late can leave you scrambling if code-reference shipping, a work crunch, or a remote-proctoring hiccup eats into your final weeks.
- Buy when you can name a target month, not when you merely feel inspired.
- Leave a buffer of several weeks before day 365 for rescheduling surprises.
- Remember non-transferability: an employer-sponsored purchase tied to your name stays yours.
Choosing Your Code Edition Before You Book
ICC's Current Certification Exams list for national exams, updated January 12, 2026, lists exam 79 in both the 2021 and 2024 code editions. The materials we reviewed did not specify a single edition for a given purchase, and we do not silently substitute one for the other. That means the edition decision is yours to confirm during checkout, and it affects everything downstream: which references you may bring, which study materials are valid, and how much of your prep transfers.
The scope information we could verify comes from ICC's RESNET Conference 2026 training-plus-exam page, dated February 20, 2026, which explicitly prepares candidates for exam 79 using the 2024 IECC. Its six preparation topics are the basis for the domain names used throughout this site. These are preparation-curriculum topics, not officially weighted exam domains, and the current edition-specific formal blueprint could not be verified. Our deeper treatment lives in REI-PE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.
PRONTO Remote Proctoring and Scheduling Logistics
ICC's IECC/HERS Compliance Specialists page verifies PRONTO remote-proctored delivery for this exam family, along with the 50-question, two-hour format. We are not asserting any additional testing provider for exam 79 beyond what that page establishes. Remote proctoring changes the scheduling conversation in a few useful ways: you are not hunting for a seat at a physical test center, and your constraints shift toward your own space, equipment, and connectivity.
Practical Scheduling Considerations
- Pick a quiet block: the exam is two hours for 50 questions, so choose a day when interruptions are unlikely.
- Do a tech check early: do not wait until exam morning to discover a camera or browser problem.
- Review reference rules in advance: the exam is open book, but ICC publishes restrictions on what you may bring. The details are on ICC's support page "What should I bring to the test site?" and the approved reference list must be checked for your selected edition.
- Tab and prepare references the week before, not the night before.
Format details are consistent with ICC's national-examination guidance: four-option, single-answer multiple-choice items. The scoring rule is where candidates most often misjudge their readiness: ICC requires a scaled score of 75, not necessarily 75% raw accuracy. We unpack that nuance in REI-PE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Planning Backward from Your Exam Date
Because no external deadline forces your hand, the most useful date is the one you set for yourself. Start with your target exam day, then count backward to cover three stages: reference preparation, content study, and timed practice. Anchor your study plan to the format you will actually face: 50 questions in 120 minutes works out to roughly two and a half minutes per item on average, but open-book exams reward fast navigation of the code book more than memorization.
Key Takeaway
Treat the 365-day purchase window as a ceiling, not a target. Most of your calendar risk comes from buying before your references and study plan are settled. Lock in your edition, gather matching code books, then purchase with a specific month in mind.
Questions to Settle Before You Purchase
- Which code edition will I test under, and do I own matching references?
- Do I meet any employer or program expectations? We did not verify an exam-79-specific education or experience minimum in accessible ICC material, and HERS Rater or Rating Field Inspector status belongs to a separate combined designation, not a verified prerequisite for the standalone exam. Details are in REI-PE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
- How many weeks do I realistically have, given my work schedule?
- Where is my practice-test baseline? You can check yours on our REI-PE practice test site before committing to a purchase date.
Sequencing the Six Domains Across Your Window
This is the one section where we get into study structure, and we tie it directly to the exam's content. The six preparation topics are not weighted, so there is no verified percentage to tell you where to spend the most hours. Historical ICC-authored material from 2021 lists a different four-part breakdown (General Plans and Inspection, Alterations/Additions/Change of Use or Occupancy, Building Envelope, and Mechanical Systems), but those older allocations are not verified current 2024 weights, so treat them only as a hint that envelope-related content has historically been prominent. For a broader study approach, see REI-PE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Foundation: Domains 1 and 2
- History and future of energy codes gives context that makes later provisions easier to remember.
- Administration and documentation requirements is where you learn what plans and paperwork must show, a core skill for a plans examiner.
Core Technical: Domains 3 and 4
- Compliance options: learn the pathways and when each applies.
- Specific thermal envelope and systems provisions: the densest technical block, so give it the most calendar time and the most practice questions.
Application: Domains 5 and 6
- How the IECC relates to existing buildings: practice scenarios involving alterations and additions.
- Expanded appendices of the 2024 IECC: confirm whether this applies to your purchased edition before investing heavily.
Notice the caveat on Domain 6. Its name references the 2024 IECC specifically, so if you purchase the 2021 edition, verify how that content maps before assuming it is tested the same way. Likewise, the final week or two should be reserved for timed, open-book simulations in which you practice locating provisions fast. Our REI-PE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is a good last-week companion.
Timing Scenarios Compared
Different candidates have different pressures. The table below compares common approaches using only verified exam mechanics; the "best for" column is our planning judgment, not an ICC statement.
| Approach | How It Works | Main Risk | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|
| Study first, buy later | Complete most prep, then purchase and test within weeks | Slight delay before earning the credential | Self-funded candidates who want to protect a non-refundable purchase |
| Buy early, spread the work | Purchase now and use most of the 365 days | Window shrinks while life interferes | Employer-funded candidates with a firm deadline |
| Bundled training plus exam | ICC's conference package (listed separately at $500) combines training and the exam | Price and timing tied to the event | Those who want instructor-led 2024 IECC prep |
The $500 conference package is a separate product from the standalone exam price, and we were not able to retrieve its promised online study guide, so evaluate it on its own merits. If you are weighing the overall investment, Is the REI-PE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 frames the decision, and REI-PE Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis explains why we avoid quoting specific earnings figures: no exam-79-specific salary estimate or certification earnings premium has been verified.
Setting Expectations on Difficulty
Candidates sometimes assume a short, open-book exam is easy. Open-book formats shift the challenge from recall to navigation and interpretation, and the scaled scoring rule means you cannot simply count correct answers to estimate your result. ICC's marketing claim that up to 90% of course participants pass is not a population pass rate, so do not use it to calibrate expectations. For a candid look, read How Hard Is the REI-PE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 and REI-PE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
Dates That Matter After You Pass
Exam scheduling is only the first date in the credential's life. According to the live 2026 ICC Credentialing Renewal Bulletin, a single certification carries a three-year renewal cycle requiring 1.5 CEUs, including at least 0.8 qualifying Part 1 CEUs. The renewal fee is listed at $105 for members and $130 for non-members, and it is separate from your exam fee.
Build your renewal calendar the day you pass. Three years sounds distant, but CEUs accumulate more comfortably when you log them as you go rather than in a rush before the deadline. Many candidates pursue this credential for roles in code compliance, plan review, and energy verification, and our overview of REI-PE jobs and REI-PE training options can help you choose continuing-education activities that also support your career path.
Frequently Asked Questions
No fixed national calendar was identified for the Residential Energy Inspector/Plans Examiner exam (ICC exam 79). The practical timeline is your purchase window: ICC states that examination purchases must be used within 365 days of purchase.
No. ICC states that exam purchases are non-refundable and non-transferable. Because of this, it is wise to settle your edition, references, and target month before you buy.
ICC's January 12, 2026 list of national exams shows exam 79 in both the 2021 and 2024 editions. The materials we reviewed did not specify which applies to a given purchase, so confirm the edition at checkout and match every study resource and reference to it.
ICC verifies PRONTO remote-proctored delivery for this exam family. The exam has 50 multiple-choice questions with four options each and a two-hour time limit, and it is open book subject to ICC's published reference restrictions.
ICC requires a scaled score of 75, which is not necessarily 75% raw accuracy. After certification, renewal follows a three-year cycle requiring 1.5 CEUs, with a renewal fee separate from the exam fee. For the full picture of the credential itself, see our exam dates overview and What Is REI-PE?